College Advice: Choosing Adventure Pays off

As you are going through your college career, you may choose to change your major several times or be unsure as to what direction you want to go; however, one thing you should never be afraid to do is take some adventures.

When in school you may have the opportunities to travel abroad, take an internship in a different state or move to a different city after graduation. I’m here to tell you that you should take all the adventures while you can and meet as many people as possible. While in undergraduate, I was given a plethora of opportunities. Some adventures I took was studying for a Summer in London, completing an internship in Washington, D.C. and moving to a different state after graduation.

Courtney takes London

My first, and biggest adventure thus far, was when I came to North Carolina from New York for college. I knew absolutely no one and was beyond scared, but I knew I wanted to venture away from home and start something new. I was able to join a sorority as well as many leadership clubs across campus where I met many new friends very quickly. Being in Charlotte made me open my eyes to a whole new world and start my journey for endless adventures.

Over the past four years, I was given opportunities that I could never pass up. One of the three most important ones, as I stated earlier, was to study in London. I completed the UNCC International Public Relations Seminar in London where I traveled with 17 other women and we had the time of our lives. If you ever get the opportunity to travel abroad, whether it’s for one week or one semester, do it! You will never regret it, I promise! When abroad, you meet so many different people and see amazing things you never could see in America.

Another adventure you should never pass up is taking an internship in a different state or city. After London, I was fortunate enough to have an internship in Washington, D.C. with American Gastroenterological Association. It made me fall more in love with health care, the city and public relations. The people at my internship gave me tasks I’ve never done before and really trusted me which made me consider more to move up to DC upon graduation. When you take an internship in a different city, it shows future employers that you are willing to relocate and try something new.

Courtney, DC

Lastly, when you graduate you should definitely consider moving to a different city because you are only young once and you have no strings attached, so why not? In December, I will be moving up to DC and I am counting down the days. It will definitely be different from good ole’ Charlotte but what is one more adventure?

When in undergraduate, take all the adventures you can and make the most out of them. You never know where you will end up or what stories you have to tell the next day.

Summary by: Courtney Palazzo
Courtney Palazzo, a senior from Rochester, NY, is graduating in December. She plans to move to Washington, DC to work in health PR. Connect with her on LinkedIn
Leave a Reply

